Schedule | CS 2113 Software Engineering - Spring 2021

Course Schedule of Topics and Due Dates

Lecture/Lab Videos (and additional details) can be found on the Ed Posts

Part 1: Introductory C programming Lecture (Mon) Lab (Wed) Assignments and Due Dates
Week 1 Jan 11: C0 - Basics
Ed Post
C0-1 Quiz
Jan 13:
Lab 0 (Ed Post)
Lab 1 (Ed Post)
Lab 0 - Due Fri Jan 15
Week 2 Jan 18: No Lecture
(MLK Day)
Jan 20: No Lab
(Inauguration)
Lab 1 - Due Fri Jan 22
Week 3 Jan 25: C1 - Data Types, Arrays, Pointers
Ed Post
C0-2 Quiz
C1-1 Quiz
Jan 27: Lab 2
Ed Post
Lab 2 - Due Tue Feb 2
Week 4 Feb 1: C2 - Strings Double Arrays, Command Line Args
Ed Post
C1-2 Quiz
C2-1 Quiz
Feb 3: Lab 3
Ed Post
Lab 3 - Due Tue Feb 9
Week 5 Feb 8: C3 - Memory Model and Data Structures
Ed Post
C2-2 Quiz
C3-1 Quiz
Feb 10: Lab 4 Lab 4 - Due Fri Feb 19
Week 6 Feb 15: No Lecture (Pres. Day) Feb 17: Exam Review
Ed Post
Quiz C3-2
Project 1 - Released
Ed Post
• Part 1 - Due Fri Mar 12
• Part 2 - Due Fri Apr 2
Week 7 Feb 22: Exam 1 (C0-C3) Feb 24: Project 1 Q&A
Ed Post
 

Part 2: Object Oriented Programming in Java Lecture (Mon) Lab (Wed) Assignments and Due Dates
Week 8 Mar 1: J0 – OOP Intro, Java Review, Object Model
Ed Post
J0-1 Quiz
Mar 3: Debugging Tips/Tricks
Ed Post
 
Week 9 Mar 8: J1 – J1 - Inheritance
Ed Post
J0-2 Quiz
J1-1 Quiz
Mar 10: Lab 5
Ed Post
Lab 5
• Due Fri Mar 26
Spring Break Spring Break Spring Break Spring Break
Week 10 Mar 22: J2 – J2 - Polymorphism
Ed Post
J1-2 Quiz
J2-1 Quiz
Mar 24: Lab 6 Lab 6
Ed Post
• Due Fri Apr 9
Week 11 Mar 29: J3 – J3-Interfaces and Generics
Ed Post
J2-2 Quiz
J3-1 Quiz
Mar 31: Project 2 Q&A
Ed Post
Project 2 - Released
• Part 1: Due Tue Apr 13
• Part 2: Due Mon Apr 26
Week 12 Apr 5: J4 – GUIs and Events
Ed Post
J3-2 Quiz
J4-1 Quiz
Apr 7: Lab 7 lab 7 - Due Fri Apr 16
Week 13 Apr 12: J5 – Threading and Concurrency
Ed Post
J4-2 Quiz
J5-1 Quiz
Apr 14: Exceptions
Ed Post
 
Week 14 Apr 19: J6 – Graphics, Animation and Java IO
Ed Post
J5-2 Quiz
J5-3 Quiz
Apr 21: Project 3 Q&A Project 3 - Released
• Due May 11
Week 15 Apr 26: J7 – Networking and Sockets Apr 28: No Lab
(reading day)
 
Week 15+ (designated Mon.) Apr 29: Exam 2 (J0-J6)